AFC History

AFC Organization

AFC Flying Schools

AFC Squadrons

AFC Servicemen

Aces of the AFC

Aircraft of the AFC

Aircraft Profiles



AFC Gallery

Roll of Honour

Official Documents


AFC in Scale

AFC Mainpage


    Profiles of Aircraft


    Airco DH.5

    Bristol F2b Fighter

    Martinsyde G.100 & G.102

    Nieuport 11 bebe

    Royal Aircraft Factory SE5a

    • SE5a A8394 of Lieutenant L.H. Holden, 2 Sqn AFC, 1918.
    • SE5a B129 of Lieutenant L.H. Holden, 6 Sqn AFC, 1918.
    • SE5a D3511 of Major R.S. Dallas, 40 Sqn RAF, 1918.
    • SE5a D3542 of Unknown Pilot, 6 Sqn AFC, 1918.
    • SE5a E5765 of Captain E.E. Davies, 2 Sqn AFC, 1918.
    • SE5a B8392 of Lieutenant F.T. Currie, 2 Sqn AFC, 1918.
    • SE5a D7004 of Lieutenant E.R. Dibbs, 2 Sqn AFC, 1918.
    • SE5a F5457 of Captain G.H. Blaxland, 2 Sqn AFC, 1918.

    Sopwith F.1 Camel

    Sopwith Pup

    Sopwith 7F.1 Snipe

    Sopwith 1 and 1/2 Strutter

    Sopwith Triplane

    1. The Australian Flying Corps squadrons were raised in Australia as Australia's Air Arm for the Australian Military. They were known to the Australian Government and to the Australian Imperial Force (AIF) as squadron's numbered 1 to 8 AFC. The British to avoid confusion with their own RFC squadrons numbered 1 to 8, wrote the AFC squadrons in their military bookeeping and recordkeeping as Sqn's 67 to 71 RFC Australian Wing.

    The decision of the British Administration System to represent the Australian Flying Corps in this manner caused resentment among members of the Australian Flying Corps with pilots such as Richard Williams believing the British had no right to do it. The Australian squadrons referred to themselves and their squadrons by their Australian Flying Corps names. The British administration after protest changed the nomenclature to Sqn's 67 - 71 Australian Flying Corps, before finally in January of 1918 recording the squadrons by their true Australian Flying Corps and Australian Imperial Force names.

    The Australian squadrons often appear misnamed in modern history writings in the format 67(A) RFC or 67(Australian) RFC for this reason. In January of 1918 after pressure from the Australian Government the British military bookeeping was changed to the naming of the Squadrons under their AIF nomenclature. This is often incorrectly represented in modern writings with the words, "officially renamed to ...". Which is incorrect, the change was the British administration system finally recognizing the Australian Flying Corps and Australian Imperial Force nomenclature.

    As the AFC squadrons were always known to the AIF as AFC squadrons and as this website represents Australian Military History, the British military bookeeping nomenclature of 67 RFC or 67 Sqn AFC is not used. Instead the Australian military bookeeping nomenclature is used for the squadrons and hence they appear on the page in their AIF and Australian Flying Corps names.